22 Life Lessons for 22 Years of Life.

birthday-candles.jpg

“I don’t know about you, but I’m feelin’ 22!” haha (Thanks Taylor Swift)

Well, if you couldn’t guess, it’s my 22nd birthday today (woohoo!) I’ve decided to reflect on all the life lessons I’ve learned thus far, as I’ve made it to this point in my life. It hasn’t been an easy road, but I’m so thankful for my journey! I’m excited for all that lies ahead and for all the new life lessons I’ll learn along the way. 🙂

  1. Rejection is inevitable, however it is essential. It helps to keep you humble, motivated, and teaches you to look forward to the future. There is always an opportunity for something better to come your way — if not today, than tomorrow.
  2.  Don’t let your insecurities define you. As my idol Joan Jett sings,

    “Insecure – everybody feels a little
    Insecure – tell ya one thing I know for sure
    We’re all a little insecure

    You shouldn’t care what people think of you
    All you can do is be yourself
    No matter how they see you
    You really can’t be somethin’ else

    You’re not the only one that feels this way
    Inside they look the same as you
    When it seems never ending
    Remember they’re pretendin’ too …”

  3. Failure is the ultimate foundation to grow and to build on to create your success. Ever since I was born, I was expected to fail. Being born premature, my brother and I were given less than a 10% chance of survival. I was rejected from a few different schools when I was younger, because I needed extra help with my learning. I wasn’t picked for most activities, whether in school or at camp, because I was to quite and shy. Well, just as these 50 famously successful people who failed at first, I showed myself and the world, how you can’t let the bets placed against you equal your worth.  I’m one semester away from being a college graduate, I landed a fantastic internship with an incredible company, and I have such an amazing support system.
  4. Embrace your individuality, because there’s only one you. 🙂
  5. If you have a few close friends, you’ve hit the jackpot. I’ve never been that tyoe of person to have tons and tons of friends. I’ve only ever had a few good friends for I’ve always been very picky, haha. However, the few that I do have are people I know I can trust, count on for anything, and know that they’ll always be there. So, if you can count your close friends on one hand (even more so on two), know you’re very lucky!
  6. You don’t have to like something just because someone (or society) tells you to. I can honestly say I’ve never fit in. I’ve always felt I was more mature than my age group, and was never into the mainstream trends. Even if I did become interested in them, it wasn’t until months after they were old news. Its taught me that just because something’s popular, doesn’t mean it’s supposed to make you happy.
  7. Travel as often as you can. For there are some lessons that can’t be taught in the classroom. 
  8. Don’t let yourself be a pushover. From many different experiences, it doesn’t help you or the situation. Stand your ground and confront the conflict head on. I know it’s easier said than done, because believe me — it has taken me a while to implement it. However, since I’ve become more aware of it, it has allowed me to become more confident in my opinions and decisions.
  9. Don’t beat yourself up, you’re doing the best that you can! Whether it’s trying a new fitness regime, finishing that new (well, now old) book, or keeping up with your assignments … remember you’re only human! If you can’t get everything done that you wanted to today, there’s another day just around the corner!
  10. Constantly research. It doesn’t matter if it’s for class, your dinner plans, or for your next vacation … learn how to research! It’s such a helpful skill to have, and it allows you to learn about so many places and things. Constantly be curious!
  11. Always have a plan. Maybe this is just my internship talking, but planning is so important! Don’t get me wrong, spontaneity is fun as well! However, having some sort of plan is always ideal. It allows you to keep yourself motivated and excited for what’s to come!
  12. Never settle. It couldn’t be better said than with this quote by John Lennon, “Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.”
  13. Always be open to trying new things and experiences. I’m definitely still working on this one (especially where food is concerned, haha!) However, it’s important to realize that there’s only so many opportunities you can be fortunate enough to have … so don’t waste them!
  14. Take risks every once in a while. Adventure is out there! You never know what new things you’ll discover … especially about yourself.
  15. Never stop learning! I would say this goes with constantly researching. Read new books and about current events, travel, listen to new music, go to that new shop that just opened up, watch movies you haven’t seen before, etc. There are so many resources and opportunities for growth and learning. Take advantage of them! Check out 40 amazing places to learn something new everyday!
  16. Listen and be kind to others, but pleasing everyone is not your job. You need to learn how to make yourself happy before you start to worry about everyone else. 
  17. Wear what makes you feel confident and beautiful. Clothing is one of the many forms of self-expression. Own it! As you know, fashion is such a (dare I say it) passion of mine, that I couldn’t imagine my life without it! When I get dressed up every day, it makes me feel excited to take on whatever comes my way!
  18. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. This is something I was never really good at. I was always to nervous to speak up and would think I’d be able to figure things out on my own. However, as I got older, I learned how silly of me it was because you’ll never be able to learn that way. I saw this Chinese Proverb and thought it couldn’t explain this concept better, “He who asks a question remains a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask remains a fool forever.”
  19. Always try to help whenever and wherever you can.
  20. Don’t be afraid to be independent! There may come a time when you no longer have the opportunity to do so. Take the chance now — figure out your likes, your dislike, and how to care for and live by yourself.
  21. Take a break every now and then. (And not just of a Kit Kat bar, haha!) Take a breather, dance like no one’s watching, enjoy the sweeter things in life and do what makes you happy.
  22. & Never, ever, ever give up! 

I hope at least one of these lessons resonates with you. Thank you to everyone for your constant love and support, I wouldn’t have gotten to where I am today without you! 🙂 Hope you have a fantastic day and eat some cake + have a glass of wine for me! 😛

Stay fashionable,

xo – Britt

Leave a Reply

