Late Night Confessions: Opinions.

IMG_6152

“Why is it, that I’m constantly concerned with what others think of me?”

I’ve been asking myself this question a lot lately. It drives me crazy, especially since the more I think about it, the less of an argument I have for any good reasons in favor of it.
The thing about opinions is that they’re so fickle … constantly changing and evolving. We all have them. It’s so easy to voice our opinions on subjects that we believe have no influence on us or that we have on it. However, the funny thing is, once we feel something affects us or will come back to us in some way, we immediately disregard our thoughts as irrational. We hide them within ourselves and pray that they will never be heard, for the fear of rejection and disapproval from our peers.

I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of being a contradiction.

I’m done hiding my point of view for the fear of being unaccepted. It’s time to start voicing my opinions and beliefs more. I pride myself on my determination for uniqueness, independence, and individuality. For if I don’t, then who will?

I’m going to start taking more risks and pushing my boundaries. I’m officially stepping out of my comfort zone.

I’m going to talk to that cute boy in my class. I’m going to explore my surroundings more. I’m going to start using those machines at the gym that I have no idea how to use, just because I fear embarrassing myself … And so many other things that I’m finally going to start doing.

It’s being able to subtract fear from the equation and add your confidence. It’s having the ability to cut out that nagging voice in the back of your mind saying “no, don’t take that chance … you don’t want to be rejected, do you?” and say what you really think. For the thing is, rejection is inevitable. I’ve been rejected so many times in my life — for so many different reasons, that what’s one more? What’s the worst that could happen? Someone doesn’t reciprocate your feelings? Someone doesn’t see your point of view? Someone doesn’t like the way you do things? Well, stick that one special finger up in the air, say your favorite four letter word (followed by you) and move on. For all that rejection means is that you’re one step closer to acceptance.

Your life shouldn’t be determined by someone else’s opinion, yours is the only one that matters in the end.

Stay fashionable,

xo – Britt

Leave a Reply

